In A Fog

I’ve been on a roller coaster ride these last two weeks. Back attack, constipation, then more massive back attack that required my family to carry me to the bathroom.  On Labor Day weekend, my daughter and her boyfriend drove from Davis to visit and I prayed so hard that God will give me a miracle for the walking portion so that I wouldn’t freak her out too much.  Then it happened on Saturday night.  On Sunday morning and thereafter, I could start walking again. Praise the Lord.  Just in time to give my daughter hope that her mom is not spiraling downwards.

Then a few days ago, hospice sent a professional massage therapist over to work on my back and I caught a nasty cold, threw up, felt loopy most of the time, the body not feeling my own.  The following night, the back pain came back with a vengeance, and now even the front ribs for some reason.  So after these many months of thinking that it’s muscle spasms only, I now know it’s probably deeper that topical ointment or bandages won’t be able to fix.

Since then I have finally succumbed to taking liquid morphine every 2-3  hours. I feel loopy most of the time but I will figure this out and get maximum mileage out of the drug and the time I have.  As you all know, I have been trying to stay away from morphine all this time because I was worried that I couldn’t hear the Lord with a barrier of medication, and that morning before the nurse came, I cried and cried and cried buckets but He gave me permission to take it.  I could still hear Him and talk to Him and when I have 25 mins of clear headedness within the 2-3 hours, I read the Word or draw.  I continue to thank Him.  I thank Him for morphine, and I thank Him for keeping the channel open.  At least now, I am pain free.

And not only that, the Lord continues to peel layers and layers of unfinished business and inadequacies that I have.  This is a very special time with my family, as I am bed ridden and they look after me around the clock when they are not at school.  I even got a new wardrobe of sleepwear because that’s what I am wearing most of the time and when I leave it to the boys to do the laundry, I need more than 2 change of clothes.  I feel so spoiled with 7 pairs of sleepwear and more to come from my shopping-happy husband.  On the bright side, I am finishing at least 2-3 drawings everyday, zen doodle style.  Too bad I don’t have the energy to upload them anymore.  I could make it to the dining room and back and that’s it for now.  One of these days, I’ll go farther.  I have not given up hope that Abba is going to heal me in the end.

12 Comments

Filed under About Myself

12 responses to “In A Fog

  1. Glad you were able to post today and happy that you were able to walk during your daughter’s visit. Also glad that you are able to continue with your art and reading the Word.

  2. Gomes, Jean

    I Love You Sandra. We are praying for you and your family. You are a remarkable women, mom, wife and sister in faith.
    Blessing to you,

    Jean Gomes

  3. Dear Sandra, such a message. I’m so happy that you were given the strength to walk while your daughter visited – a wonderful gift and answered prayer for you.

    I’m happy that your blessed family is showering you with all their love and devotion, a very special time for your family. Don’t you just love all the beautiful new sleepwear, ah love your description of “shopping-happy husband” totally works!

    Sorry that you’ve had to resort to morphine, but I’m glad that you decided to take it because it’s letting you spend this time pain free with your loved ones. You’re a beautiful Mother and Wife, and shepherd – God knows and rewards. Sandra you’re a very special person.

    I hold you in my prayers, many blessings to you and your family.

  4. HI Sandra, vmrs~Virginia from WetCanvas here. Just wanted to let you know I was thinking of you. Much love to you and your family.

  5. Ling

    Dear Sandra, I’m so happy to see your post. Indeed, you are one remarkable lady. Love you and you are always in my prayers.
    May you be well, happy and peaceful.

  6. Prayers for the Lords comfort, mercy, strength and blessing on you and your family Sandra. 🙂

  7. Candace Allan

    Dear Sandra, Been off Wet Canvas this summer & checked in to find the OP forum directing us to say hello here; so glad I found you again. Bless you friend for your courage, witness of faith online, and your love of our savior. God is blessing so many people thru your life & posts. Peace, sister.
    ~in Christ, Candace aka CandAlArt

  8. Rainy

    Sandra. . . thinking of you and sending prayers. Your art and enthusiasm in years past always made my day. Hugs.

  9. Hello my brave friend,
    Wishing you a very speedy recovery and hope that all goes well and you become fit to continue your artistic journey. Just to let you know that I am thinking about you. Keeping you and your family in my thoughts and prayers. Much love.
    Peace
    Tirtha aka SWORDSNAKE007

  10. Kerstin

    Sandra, I came over here from WetCanvas. I don’t know you but as a fellow human I wish you strength and want you to know that I am thinking of you. I am glad your family supports you. Blessings to you all.
    Kerstin

  11. So nice to hear some news from you and that you were given strength to walk. You are in my prayers and I send healing thoughts your way. You are an inspiration, never giving up and constantly moving forward. Bless you.

  12. Vivien Maloney

    So sorry to hear you are so very ill Sandra. Big hugs and my thoughts prayers are with you.

Leave a comment